My Safe Place

The saddle has always been my favorite place to relax and think and probably always will be. Second best is taking a ride in the car, but there will never be a feeling that beats sitting on the back of a big warmblood.

Though riding is a dangerous sport and many have gotten hurt by these powerful animals, including myself, I will never feel more relaxed anywhere other than the saddle. I pretty much grew up riding and started in a lesson program as early as I could (5 or 6) so i’ve been around horses for a very long time. There are even pictures of me when I was very little being held by my mom and myself reaching out to touch a horse. Believe it or not, the first book my mom ever read to me was the famous “Black Beauty”. I was adopted but my birth mother also grew up around horses and loved them, so it’s pretty much in my blood. I have always been drawn to the amazing creatures and the incredible, indescribable, bond you can create with them.

On good days, you’ll find me at the barn. On bad days, you’ll find me dragging myself off of the couch to go to the barn. It’s my second home, somewhere that i’m comfortable and love being. Though fellow equestrians know that there can and usually is a lot of barn drama, my barn being no different, there are others there who share our passion and quickly become close friends. Even on a horrible day I will willingly go to the barn because if i’m not in the hospital there is no way i’ll be missing my treasured time at the barn.

So though many people would never say that being on the back of a 16hh horse cantering and navigating a course of jumps is their “safe place”, it sure is mine.

Thought I would include this lovely photo of the infamous George Morris. I, and many other equestrians pretty much live by this quote. If we're not on our way to the hospital, you can sure as hell bet we'll be getting back on!

Thought I would include this lovely photo of the infamous George Morris.  Many equestrians live by this quote when it comes to riding. If we’re not on our way to the hospital, you can sure as hell bet we’ll be getting back on!

Leave a Reply

