Picking myself back up

There’s a quote that circulates in the equestrian community and one that many of us go by and follow which is “pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and get back in the saddle.” Though this obviously applies to equestrians specifically with the reference to the saddle, it can also be taken and used by others.

The naturopath appointment kind of knocked me down. Don’t get me wrong, it was a very positive appointment and one that provided great hope, but the future is scary. I am one who hates many foods and tastes and have a very low tolerance for new tastes, so taking a bunch of new things will be hard. My mom came up to me the other day and said in reference to pills that “the most you’ll have to take at once is 7.” 7 is no big deal, but that’s just at one time. I’ll be taking many others throughout the day and will probably get up to around 30 new things i’m introducing to my body. Plus all of the things i’ll be putting in my water. My body does not handle new things very well, even if they are natural like herbs, so i’m nervous about how this is going to go. I know many others have it worse, but I needed to get it out. It scared me and still does and knocked me off my feet. I hit the ground hard and it sure as hell gave me a reality check. I’m sick. If I don’t do this i’m not going to get better, rather i’ll slowly get worse. There is no way around this… and that’s terrifying.

I’m sure others are reading this shaking their heads that i’m complaining. This is my journey as a 17 year old, i’m not always going to be happy go lucky and this blog definitely shows that.

I’ll be riding tomorrow and I really hope that is able to help me get my mind off of things, at least for a little bit. Taking some deep breaths and preparing myself to walk down this new path with newfound hope and positivity.

6 thoughts on “Picking myself back up

  1. Every single person has the right to complain. If people do the whole (I have it SO much worse” then they are insensative. Unless of course they really DO have it worse, but then they should not undermine your experiences.

  2. I really admire your will to keep moving forward and sharing your feelings. You inspire me everyday girl. You have been handling the past few years with grace and courage and like everything you have been through, you will move past this. Soon enough your new regime will be part of ypur routine. We can send each other pictures of our funny faces while we take somw of our horrible tasting meds! You are one tough cookie πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

