Thankful.

Thankful.

As defined by Miriam Webster dictionary, thankful means “glad that something has happened or not happened, that something or someone exists, etc.” Though life sure has tossed a lot of lymes my way, i’m thankful for the people that I have met because of all of this. I’m thankful for the maturity and insight i’ve gained because of it. For one i’ve found my absolute best friend, I take that back, she’s actually more like a sister. She has been on this journey (literally) with me as she is sick as well, and has never once left my side. We don’t get to see each other very much, but I always know that if something is wrong I can go straight to her and tell her everything that’s on my mind. She is always open to helping me despite the struggles she goes through herself and is always willing to take mine on as well…. she is remarkable. Though i’m only 17 i’ve never had that trust in someone before. She’s absolutely amazing and I truly don’t know where I would be without her. This one is for you Marybeth!

Not only that, but at 17 a lot of teens tend to get sucked into drama and the whole party scene. But because i’ve been sick, i’ve really been able to sit back and watch others. Though at times I would love to be able to just go out and party (it has never really been my thing, but ya know) i’ve gained valuable insight into the world that i’m positive I wouldn’t have gotten if I never got sick. I’ve figured out how to navigate life even when the going gets tough. That is one lesson that I see a lot of people struggle with, and I did myself, but I now have a better understanding of it. I also now know that if I can get through this, i’ll be able to get through things later in life that tear others down. Sure, they’ll still be hard, but I think i’ll be able to dig myself out of the rut quicker and easier. I know that lesson will help me later in life between heartbreaks and let downs. We shall see!

Because I got sick I also ended up with the amazing horse that I have now. If I never got sick I never would have gotten him. He is also a rock for me and riding is my freedom. It allows me to forget about all this other stuff going on and just relax. Unfortunately not many “spoonies” are able to have an outlet like this because they are too sick to do what they love, so i’m beyond grateful that my amazing horse takes care of me and I am able to push my body enough to ride without ending up in a huge flare.

So though my life right now is hard and this stupid port is getting on my nerves, I truly have a lot to be thankful for. I have loving family, friends, and pets who surround me and make sure I know that i’m loved. I have a roof over my head and food on my plate, and that’s something that not everyone can say. And for that, I am thankful.

Stay positive and keep fighting. You got this! 💪

“You can turn off the sun, but i’m still gonna shine.”

One thought on “Thankful.

Leave a Reply

