This Past Year

So… I haven’t posted in over a year. Yeah. Well it’s just over a year so it isn’t all that bad.

I’ve been on a roller coaster to say the very least. I’ve had my ups, my downs, my days where i’ve felt like i’m on top of a mountain (I was SO close to being better!) and other days where i’ve felt like I was tumbling down that mountain. Back at the very end of 2014 my second PICC line decided to get a blood clot. Not only was this discouraging because I now had a lovely little clot in my arm, but it also meant that I would have to have it pulled. Now, as much as I hated that line, it was making me better and seeing it go was hard. Having it pulled isn’t a big deal and doesn’t hurt at all, but I relied on that thing for a good 5 months and I was getting my life back because of it.

January 28th 2015 I got my port placed. It’s a minor surgery that takes maybe 45 minutes. Hardly any time at all, but even that was enough to send me into another flare. My body wanted nothing to do with it at first and made me pay for it in pain, but thankfully after a few days it settled down and stopped hurting. Huge relief there!

Roughly two weeks later I started back up on Doxycycline, which is what had made me feel better before. Unfortunately, after being off of this medication for so long I developed an extreme allergy to it. As you can probably guess, things went downhill very quickly. Thankfully my mom was home and was able to help me quickly while my brother called 911.  Queue another flare.

I have also been out of school for a year and a half now but will be headed “back” hopefully in the next few weeks. I’ll be homebound, but it’s better than nothing.

I’m exhausted but i’m excited to be starting this blog up again. Plus, May is Lyme Disease Awareness Month! It’s a good time to start 🙂

Leave a Reply

